Inspiration from the SS17 fashion shows

The best thing about sewing for yourself, is you can make whatever you like. And one of the many great things about living in Australia, is that we get to see the Spring Summer 17 fashion shows in time to sew them up for Spring Summer in 2016. So we’re way ahead of the fashion curve over here, didn’t you know?

The 2017 Spring Summer shows are still coming out, and you can see the latest shows here as they emerge.

I’m a lover of loose, comfortable clothing and softer, natural fabrics. So that’s what I look for. I just can’t get excited about being trussed up in tight clothing that makes me feel like I’m being squeezed by a boa constrictor.

I have been pondering my next pair of True Bias Emerson pants, and there was heaps of loose pants inspiration in this year’s shows. White pants are not for me – but I do like the loose pant/tank top combo.

There will be more down the track when Dries van Noten’s show comes out as well I would imagine – he is the prince of baggy trousers and all things comfy, flowing and beautiful. Here are some from years gone by. He had his models clearly demonstrate the benefits of loose clothing styles last year.

Dresses are also a staple for me in the warmer months – and there was some great inspiration there as well.

And some great skirts and jackets

I still think Armani is the king of the jacket, so I’ll need to check his collection out when it arrives. Some of his outfits from last year were pretty great.

emporio_armani_spring_summer_2016_collection_milan_fashion_week1
Armani from Spring Summer 2016

Love it. Stylish, comfy clothing and that excellent feeling of being draped in beautiful loose, breathable fabrics.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

