Two blue Aubepines – one for me and one for Mum

The Deer and Doe Aubepine dress pattern is a popular favourite among sewing bloggers, and it’s easy to see why. It’s a dream to wear and I’ve had no end of compliments each time I wear it. There’s just something about those tucks in the bodice that make it stand out from the norm.

SONY DSC

I made this in a linen/tencel blend fabric from Catwalk Fabrics in Brompton, here in Adelaide South Australia. It’s a beautiful fabric which drapes quite heavily, but is still breathable.

The freedom of movement in this pattern is great. I wish I could remember what size this is, but it’s a while since I made it and I can’t recall. I didn’t need an FBA this time. Deer and Doe cut their patterns to suit a C cup, and I thought given the loose style I’d be ok with that. And I think that turned out to be right – there is plenty of room without the dress becoming shapeless.

The pocket on this dress is a bit low for me. I really need to reach down to get my hands into these pockets. They’re a great size though, and moving pockets up a bit closer to the waist area is a very easy adjustment for next time.

The only significant change I made this time was to leave out the lining (this fabric didn’t need it), and instead using silk ribbon to make the casing for the waist tie to feed through. Also, I made self fabric cord for the tie itself, which I prefer from an aesthetic point of view.

Feeding the waist tie through the casing was very, very tight in spots, and I decided that if I made this pattern again I’d search for a slightly wider ribbon. I’ve read that others have had the same issue with the waist casing as well, so if you are doing the lining I’d suggest you allow just a little more width if you’re unsure. My bodkin almost didn’t make it through.

SONY DSC

Perhaps these boots are not the best combo (now that I’ve seen these pictures), but I do like wearing boots with dresses and skirts in Spring. Come on Summer! so I can start wearing sandals.

My Mum liked this shape so much, she asked me to make one for her as well. Mum has been having chemo, and tight things around her middle are uncomfortable against her skin. This dress, in a cotton chambray and with its empire line shape, is perfect for her situation. And being able to tighten or loosen the waist ties makes it a useful and adaptable dress to have in her wardrobe.

SONY DSC

I am really happy with how Mum’s new dress came out. The colour looks beautiful on her, don’t you think? It was a fabric she’d had for a long time. Lucky me – she’s given me the leftovers and there’s more than enough to make myself a shirt sometime.

It’s so different fitting someone else. I’m really pleased with the result, and that it fits her so nicely, while still leaving her plenty of ease so she can move freely.

Hi Mum! I hope you enjoy your new dress!

Mum and me.jpg

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Donna says:

    Such a charming dress and how lovely that you made one for your mom as well. I’ve always liked the Aubepine.

    Like

    1. It’s a great pattern and I would highly recommend it for anyone who is sitting on the fence, wondering whether to buy it or not. I think I will use the bodice pieces again to make other things as well because I love the easy fit

      Like

  2. Lorraine says:

    What beautiful dresses you made, and such a perfect pattern for your mum especially. I love the colours and fabrics you used too. What a lovely daughter you are.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much Lorraine!

      Like

Leave a Reply

