Cotton/silk dressing gown – McCalls 6659

It rained and it poured last week here in Adelaide. So what’s a girl to do when stuck inside all day on a long weekend, I ask you?

So my new dressing gown is done, and it’s great. Soft, floaty, cute and comfy. Everything a dressing gown should be.

PA030439.jpg
Me in my new dressing gown, holding onto my hair in the wild, wild wind and rain Adelaide was having last week.

It really was a rough day in Adelaide last Monday. The wild weather was following on from more wild weather, with a brief reprieve of sunshine on the Saturday and Sunday. But on Monday, it looked like this from inside my back room (which regularly converts to a sewing room). Grey, gloomy, raining, windy. A good day to stay inside.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had decided on the silk/cotton for this pattern after my quick poll on this blog here. But at this point I’m also leaning on sewing the other fabric up as another dressing gown soon as well. But maybe pyjamas. But probably another dressing gown… But anyway at least the first level of decision was made and I set to cutting and sewing.

Le Pooch placed himself in the most convenient under-foot position he could find. Every time I moved, he had to move. And then move back, and then I moved and he moved and on and on it went… But he didn’t want ANY PERSONAL SPACE AT ALL that day which was, oh dear, well let’s try and call it endearing and leave it at that. The weather was bad, so we make allowances.

This fabric, which as I’ve previously mentioned came from The Fabric Store’s online shop, is gorgeously soft and even more so once I’d pre-washed it. I knew I would have had to shoot myself if I ruined it, so this was a very, very slow sew. No shortcuts were taken.

Luckily this was the third time I’d made up this pattern (once for me a few years back, but I made the too short version, and once for a friend), so I knew I would like the shape and fit.

So it was french seams all the way (for everything except armholes), and all made nice and easy on my Pfaff 7570 which is just back from being serviced. This used to be my Mum’s and then she gave it to me and I gave my sister the machine that I’d been using before that which used to be my Aunty’s. I am yet to fork out for a new machine (though I did buy an overlocker which has become utterly indispensable). But with a used machine this great, there’s really no need. It has the IDT on it which makes feeding the fabric through nice and smooth. One day I’ll do a proper sewing machine review on here for it. But it’s a dying breed these days and I know one day it will stop and probably won’t be fixable. Sad.

I included a pic of the instructions above just to remind myself how long this all took. I had been sewing for 45 minutes before I even got the side and shoulder seams finished. I mean, this was seriously slooooow sewing! And you should have seen how slowly I did the stitch-in-the-ditch sewing around the front band. But it was worth it, because it is almost perfect. See? What, you can’t actually see it? You can’t see it at all? Well, precisely my dear Watson!

The details maketh the gown in my opinion. Like the pocket, which is shown in the pattern as optional. And a hook to hang it up while you have a shower. And loops to hold the waist tie in place at each side, which is also described as optional in the pattern. I have no idea why as how would you hold the sash up without them? I went with fabric loops instead of thread. Just a personal preference.

The other little detail I like to add to this pattern, is 2 fabric cords to hold the inside of the first front fold to the inside waist. It holds everything closed and keeps it all nice and secure and in place while you’re walking around or lounging on the couch. You just tie them up on the inside of the dressing gown like this:

I decided I didn’t want a solid line of machine stitching going around the hem so took my time hand-stitching it. I’m really happy with the cute, hand-picked look this gives it. A normal hem would have looked pretty awful on this fabric I think.

And there you have it. A simple pattern which has a really nice shape I think. And that took me almost all day, but I don’t care and am very happy with the result.

I wonder if other people have sewn up dressing gowns, and have a favourite pattern. I know the Named Patterns Asaka Kimono Robe has been very popular. You can see a whole bunch of Asakas on instagram here if you’re seeking some fabric and style inspiration.

This is a great print for a dressing gown isn’t it? The night sky. Good night, all!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. OOOH lovely! Now I need one…

    Like

    1. Do it do it! I think I’m on the verge of making another one too…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Andie W. says:

    Beautiful gown! That fabric is just lovely!

    Like

    1. Thank you Andie! That means a lot to me, coming from you. You make beautiful things.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Andie W. says:

        Aww. Thank you so much! ❤❤

        Like

  3. Debra says:

    What a lovely gown. And the fabric looks beautiful. Very inspiring.

    Like

  4. I didn’t want to say anything on the last post because I liked both. This turned out so totally great and I don’t think you’d regret making up your other fabric in just the same way!

    Like

    1. Thanks Helene – I’m pretty close to doing exactly that I think. Have just arranged to give an old dressing gown away…

      Like

  5. Hey Fiona,
    This is just beautiful!
    I love, love, love your blog, I’m so glad you started!
    BTW, if you don’t mind me asking, what wordpress theme are you using??! I’d love to use it too, if you don’t mind… 😉

    M

    Like

    1. Hi = and I’m so glad you like it :). I have enjoyed so many other blogs in recent years and I just wanted to join in the fun.
      This theme is called Dyad and yes I’m finding it works pretty well so go for it! WordPress does make it so easy to get it all up and running, doesn’t it?

      Like

Leave a Reply

