Sewing plans for 2017 – the #makenine2017 challenge

So there’s a #makenine2017 challenge on Instagram, and I thought I’d join in the fun. It’s about planning what to make ahead of time, but also going easy if you change your mind.

But it did get me thinking – what do I really want to add into my wardrobe?

I posted this on Instagram as part of the challenge. If I made all of that in the coming year, I would be very happy.

Things may change during the year. Perhaps one less jacket? 3 jackets in a year does seem an awful lot, doesn’t it? I guess we’ll see how it goes…

Here’s my list:

1. a bright coloured (possibly yellow) raincoat

make nine yellow rain coat.jpg

I’ve been wanting to do this for ages. Years. It would be a coat to use for walking the dog in the rain, cycling in the rain, and generally walking about.

It took me a while to find the right pattern, but the Closet Case Patterns Kelly Anorak will be perfect. I’ve seen various versions of it online and it looks like she has this nailed. They all look great.

It needs to be in a waterproof and breathable so I don’t get wet and don’t get too sweaty, and that’s what’s holding me up at present. Finding a nice bright Goretex fabric online is not easy. I’ll keep looking though because this will be such a useful jacket to have in my wardrobe.

2. a coat

make-nine-purple-coatIt could be purple or another colour – I’m not sure yet.

I do like the purple, and given I already have a black coat and a cropped brown coat then something bright might be just the thing. Plus I have some fabric in this colour that my daughter picked last year and then decided she didn’t want me to make up. So possibly purple…? More a plum colour really. Or maybe something else.

I have a great pattern for a coat which I bought on special recently for the princely sum of $5 (3 patterns for $15 at Spotlight – bargain!). It is Burda 6772 – and it could work quite nicely with this idea. It’s got a great 60s vibe, which I really like. I would prefer a notched collar though (similar to the photo here).

I’m not quite sure about the fabric I have. Would it open nicely at the neckline (might be too stiff)? Is it the right colour for me? So the details are still pending, but you get the idea.

3. an alpaca knitted beanie

make-nine-knitted-cable-beanieI know I generally write about sewing on here, but I do occasionally knit as well. Not as much these days, as it is not kind on my neck and back. So I keep my knitting to a minimum.

But I did knit myself a beautiful grey alpaca beanie a few years ago which I love and wore soooo much. Until I washed it this year and it shrunk to a quarter its original size.

So I will be knitting another one. Probably in grey again. Or perhaps in navy, we’ll see.

4. a flannelette shirt

make-nine-flannelette-archer-shirt

Aaah, this has been a wardrobe staple for me since I was a kid. Growing up in Adelaide’s northern suburbs, y’know…

But these days I like a shirt that fits me well, so it will be another Grainline Archer shirt for me (see my first attempt here). This time the plan is to make it in a nice blue check flannelette vemake-nine-blue-satin-shirtry similar to what Jen (the designer) is wearing in the photo above.

I can’t wait to have this in my cupboard and being worn. No-one should be without a nice flannelette shirt. No-one.

I might also make a blue satin shirt this year. Inspired by this picture in a book on vintage fashion my Mum gave me for Christmas. I have a grooooovy vintage 70s pattern for this. With grooooovy big lapels and gathered sleeves.

This pic also inspired my blue velvet jeans. Thanks Mum!

5. a leather skirt

make-nine-leather-skirtI had a leather skirt for years, but it eventually got so thin that it tore while I was in my garden one day. As in, tore completely off at the back, in complete silence. When I finally realised what had happened, all I could think was “I’m sooo glad that didn’t happen in public!”

So I have been without a leather skirt for the past few years, and I miss it.

I’m not sure of the shape yet, and I’ve never sewn leather either so this is new territory for me. It will be either a pencil skirt (at or above the knee), or perhaps an a-line skirt. If it’s an a-line skirt I might use the Pauline Alice Rosari skirt pattern. If a straight skirt, I already have a few patterns. So we’ll see.

I will definitely line it. A leather skirt gets worn in winter so the extra warmth is a good thing, and it will sit nicer if it’s properly lined. Plus I’d rather have fabric against my skin.

Three cheers for the leather skirt! It’s been too long.

6. a small, unstructured jacket

make-nine-mai-zip-jacketSomething simple, probably with a zip front. There are a few patterns in the running here.

One is the Mai Zip Jacket by Named Patterns. I like the simple design, contrast sleeves (though I know I could do this with just about any jacket pattern), and general unfussiness of this pattern. And it’s not bulky in the way some bomber jackets are.

make-nine-moto-jacket
Heather Lou from Closet Case Patterns and her linen Moto Chic Jacket – pattern from SBCC

Another option is the Moto Chic Jacket from SBCC (which stands for skinny bitch curvy chick and I think they get extra points for their name alone!).

Heather Lou from Closet Case Patterns made one of these, and I absolutely love it.

Yet another option for a pattern is Burda 7020, which I already have in my stash. The cropped version.

Wool? Linen? Boucle? Leather sleeves or not? I really don’t know yet.

7. a simple shift dress

make-nine-blue-shift-dressThis is a classic wardrobe builder. A simple shift dress in a neutral colour (possibly navy), that I can wear with umpteen other things. Like my existing black coat. My little brown cropped coat. My soon to be new, possibly purple coat.

The idea here is to use a wool crepe or something similar, so I can wear this to work in winter. Simple, classic, unadorned (but not unadored). I’ve already picked out and purchased the pattern – Burda 6593.

The key to this one is to find the right fabric. But it’s an easy sew and I don’t think I’ll leave it too long before I make it up.

8. a simple black skirt

make-nine-black-pencil-skirtWhile we’re on the subject of workplace classics, I could also use a black straight or pencil skirt. I already have the fabric for this one – some black roma ponte I bought from Catwalk Fabrics a few years ago. I used some to make myself a Hollyburn skirt, which gets worn constantly. The rest is still sitting there, waiting to be used.

Preferably lined, probably using New Look 6107 which I already have.

Hmm there’s really not much to say about a straight black skirt is there? Other than it would team up nicely with my collection of Pauline Alice Carme blouses.

Boring, possibly. Useful, definitely. And a quick sew.

9.

make-nine-birkin-flaresLast, but definitely not least, is a proper pair of Birkin Flares from Baste + Gather.

I love this pattern. I made myself some blue velvet ‘almost birkin flares‘ recently, and they are the most comfortable jeans I’ve ever worn.

It has reminded me that I actually like wearing jeans. For many years now, I haven’t worn jeans at all. Because all the jeans I’ve tried (and in some cases even bought) are uncomfortable because they just don’t fit me well.

But this is a great pattern, and it’s very easy to get the fit just the way you like it. I am looking out for the perfect stretch denim, in a dark blue (almost black) to make these in. And then it’s full steam ahead – birkin flares all the way!!!

Will it work?

I’d love to know if other people plan ahead for their sewing. Have you done it? Did it work? Did you regret it or change your mind?

I think some of the above will happen. And having plans will hopefully help me focus at the fabric shop. But I’m not sure if I’ll get to all of it. I hope I do though because I’d be so happy with all those things in my wardrobe waiting to be worn!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Ooo! I can’t wait to see the leather skirt! I’m only on my 2nd year of sewing, but I have found that setting goals to be helpful. When a piece is frustrating and taking forever I can set it aside, because I have other options, or I can power through because there are other things I want to make. I have to say I diverge from my list, but it is usually a general road map!

    Like

    1. This is my first time trying to do any real planning. There are several things I’m excited about on this list. Still a little scared of the leather but I don’t know why. I’m told it’s pretty easy to sew up really. Just you can’t unpick without it being obvious, so I need to get it right first time. I think the raincoat should come first. I need to find some nice waterproof fabric!

      Like

  2. fantastikatcreates says:

    I made a bit of a plan last year and it was semi successful (1/2 items got made). In terms of raincoat material not sure if you have seen the fabric Thread Theory sell? I’ve never used it, but it looks good. (& 10/15?% off at the moment. (Apologies in advance if I have enabled fabric purchasing 😜) https://threadtheory.ca/collections/sewing-fabrics/products/dintex-outerwear-fabric-waterproof-breathable-teal

    Like

  3. fantastikatcreates says:

    Oops, here is the discount code post
    https://threadtheoryblog.wordpress.com/2017/02/10/fabric-sale/

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for sending me this link. No I wasn’t previously aware of their range and it’s fantastic. I was getting quite frustrated looking for this type of fabric and I think you’ve solved my problem! Just checking they will ship to Australia and then to choose my favourite colour!

      Like

      1. fantastikatcreates says:

        Yay! I love fabric enabling

        Like

Leave a Reply

