Singer Sewing Book from 1954

I stumbled on this book in a second hand bookshop a few weeks ago, while staying with my daughter in country New South Wales.

What a gem! 260 pages full of insights and information on sewing, as it was viewed in the mid-50s. And so great that this book was published the very same year that my grandparents gave my aunt her Singer Featherweight sewing machine, which is now one of my most prized possessions.

There’s no pretense whatsoever to gender neutrality in this book. Sewing is for women and the rules applied are strict and unforgiving.

I feel I must confess that I do not dress up to sew, nor do I don make-up just for this purpose. My husband is very used to finding me sewing in my pyjamas, and yet our marriage survives. But this book has me wondering if perhaps he’d prefer me in stilettos at the machine? (But even as I say that I can hear him in my mind saying ‘you’ve gotta be kidding me!? No way’)

So while that stuff was entertaining but useless, there is also a lot of genuinely useful information contained within this book’s pages.

Among that information is a detailed run-down of how to use each of the feet that were available on Singer sewing machines at the time. I will study some of these passages more closely and hopefully they’ll help me make better use of some of the old Singer feet I have with the Featherweight, and also work on my lovely old Pinnock Super Deluxe.

There’s some happy reading ahead of me, and I hope you’ve enjoyed this quick sneak-peak at this lovely book’s contents.

I wonder if anyone else has any old sewing books to share? I’d love to see some more examples from years gone by.

Leave a Reply

